Lake Land College recognizes student-athletes, honors Hall of Fame inductees - Lake Land College, Mattoon Illinois


Lake Land College recognizes student-athletes, honors Hall of Fame inductees

Posted on May 1, 2013

One hundred ten student athletes were recognized during the annual athletic banquet held recently at Lake Land College.

Students on each team – cheerleading, volleyball, women’s basketball, men’s basketball, softball and baseball – were honored for their excellence both in the classroom and on the court or field. 

“Here at Lake Land, athletes bring a spark and a level of competition to the campus,” said Scott Lensink, president of Lake Land as he addressed the athletes. “The skills you are learning in your sports transcend to your careers and later on in life.” 

Three athletes were awarded with distinct recognition at the banquet. Two students received the Paul I. Brandenburg Award recognizing athletic skill, academic achievement and good moral character. Angelo Costantino-Brown, Greenwood, Ind., received the Paul I. Brandenburg Basketball Award; Brannon Kwiatkowski, Mahomet, received the Paul I. Brandenburg Baseball Award; and Bo Blievernicht, Teutopolis, received the Joey Walk Award, better known as the “Hustle Award,” which is given to one athlete who is recognized for going above and beyond in baseball. 

Additionally, two former Lake Land athletes were inducted into the Hall of Fame. Former Lake Land College baseball pitcher, Darryl Hudson of Mattoon and inaugural basketball team member Mahlon Sanders of St. Louis were welcomed as the 2013 Hall of Fame inductees. 

Hudson played on two of the most successful baseball teams in Laker history. The overall team record during his two years at Lake Land is 81-18 and his overall pitching record is 21-3. He also holds the distinction of pitching the first game on Laker Field.  

Sanders was a member of the first Lake Land College basketball team, which was the college’s first athletic team. The overall team record for the Lakers during Sanders’ two years at the college is 49-11 and he holds the record for most points scored in a single season with 910. 

Also, Athletic Director Denny Throneburg made a special presentation, honoring the family and memory of Brent Bays, Lake Land College game announcer for basketball and softball, who recently passed away.

“Brent was an avid supporter of Lake Land College athletics,” said Throneburg. “Therefore, we thought it was only proper to hang a plaque in his memory both on the press box by the softball diamond and in the Field House. We will miss him and his enthusiasm very much.” 

The following athletes and coaches were also honored: 


Tammy Boeser, head coach

Dessie Boeser and Sharon Uphoff, assistant coaches

Sara Carroll, Sullivan

Breanna Davis, Shelbyville

Andrew Deremiah, Mattoon

Taylor Janes, Mattoon

Kaylee Johnston, Shelbyville

Rio Long, Paris

Tyler Mosier, Sullivan

Kylie Mumm, Monticello

Ashley Oberling, Plainville

Kelsey Reardon, Altamont

Erika Roderick, Neoga

Lexi Romack, Neoga

Kacie Royse, Mattoon

Chelsey Smith, Sullivan

Kenzie Starwalt, Greenup

Amber Wakeland, Cowden

Shay Wakeland, Cowden


Amory Porter, head coach

Ashli Wicker, assistant coach

Kya Warren, Louisville

Abbie Magrini, Mahomet

Chelsea Boewe, West Salem

Jevelyn Williams, Muncie, Ind.

Taylor Krick, Willow Hill

Meredith Timmons, Germantown

Kate Fletcher, Columbia

Aryel Phinney, Charleston

Michaela Montgomery, Casey

Naomi Gray, Effingham

Barbara Andrade, Belo Horizonte, Brazil

Anagila Silva, Suzano, Brazil

Debora de Paula, Suzano, Brazil

Women’s Basketball

Dave Johnson, head coach

Tom Titus and J.R. Hodges, assistant coaches

Shelby Kohrmann, Breese

Blair Stephenson, St. Louis

Grace Ziegler, Altamont

Whitney Godden, Mattoon

Emily Weinard, Hoopeston

Shelbi Simpson, Fairfield

Brooke Markwalder, Potomac

Lauren Bogle, Brocton

Lacey Gleeson, Colfax

Faith Wendte, Altamont

Lorraine Pitchford, St. Louis

Josey Fruhling, St. Joseph

Sarah Burch, Shelbyville

Desiree Irizarry, Chicago

Erica Hotze, Sigel 

Men’s Basketball

Cedric Brown, head coach

Dave Earp and Brendan Walker, assistant coaches 

Javon Price, Miami, Fla.

Landers Riddle, III, Florissant, Mo. 

Angelo Costantino-Brown, Greenwood, Ind.

DeMario McMillian, Chicago Heights

Harold McBride, Jr., Bronx, N. Y. 

Logan Carson, DuQuoin

Abdou (Aziz) Thiandoum, Dakar, Senegal

Charles Smith, Denver, Colo. 

KeWan Davis, Indianapolis

Giovanni Ellis, Queens, N.Y.

Devin Carter, Champaign

Michael Dwyer, Mt. Vernon, N. Y.

Jason Henry, Bronx, N.Y.

Chris Fontaine, St. Croix, Virgin Islands

Jonathan Koger, Greensboro, N. C.


Nic Nelson, head coach

Hailee Hanna, assistant coach 

Cherise Boyd, Casey

Whitney Fox, Shelbyville

Regan Mansur, Decatur

Rachel Keller, Bethalto

Meaghan Touchette, Columbia

Rebecca Patterson, Matherville

Melanie Steer, Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

Tiffany Goeckner, Dieterich

Skyler Woods, Beecher

Kristi Belshe, Honolulu

Kayla Kirkpatrick, Bethalto

Alexandria Smith, East Peoria

Morgan Hart, Louisville, Ky. 

Samantha Nissen, Beecher

Katie Watson, Louisville, Ky.

Emily BishopMarshall


Bill Jackson, head coach

Julio Godinez, assistant coach

Jacob Daily, Mattoon

Jean Carlos Peralta, Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic

Josh Manolakes, Champaign

Jarrett Rice, West Paducah, Ky. 

Jason Martin, Effingham

Andrew Alves, Champaign

Cody Burton, Danville

Ian Snowden, Mattoon

Brody Quick, Kicklin, Ind.

Brandon Wind, Indianapolis

Tyler Bushue, Mason

Romer Portes, Orlando, Fla.

Alejandro Infante, Lecherias, Venezuela 

Brady Walker, Effingham

Cody Brush, Mattoon

Chad Bailey, Mattoon

Chris Koontz, Stewardson

Andy Oliva Alvarez, Miami, Fla.

Larry Molina, Miami, Fla. 

Levi Ebbert, Charleston

Grant Garrett, Mt. Vernon

Jake Angelo, Auburn

Alonso Ruz Vera, Cabimas, Venezuela 

Bo Blievernicht, Teutopolis

Devin Wright, Effingham

Taylor Nead, Charleston

Leury Soto, Orlando, Fla.

Luis Vilchez Alana, Cabimas, Venezuela

Brannon Kwiatkowski, Mahomet

Craig Bell, Farnersburg, Ind. 

Skyler Hinchee, Mattoon

Calvin Bertrand, Charleston

Nicholas Ferris, Stewardson

Jared Having, Effingham


To learn more about athletics at Lake Land College, visit 


 Cutline: One hundred ten student athletes were honored at the Lake Land College athletic banquet held recently. Pictured here, from left are: Angelo Costantino-Brown, Greenwood, Ind., who received the Paul I. Brandenburg Basketball Award; Brannon Kwiatkowski, Mahomet, who received the Paul I. Brandenburg Baseball Award; and Bo Blievernicht, Teutopolis, who received the Joey Walk Award. 


Send this article to a friend